About the Universidad de Montevideo

About UM


The Universidad de Montevideo is a university with a Christian identity open to all faiths and beliefs. The University is inspired by the teachings of St. Josemaría Escrivá, founder of the Roman Catholic Prelature of Opus Dei, which includes the value of work ethics, the spirit of service, the love for liberty and the promotion of family values. These principles are promoted within an environment of peace and respect. 


The Universidad de Montevideo (UM) is committed to academic excellence, research, technological innovation and social responsibility. Its objectives include promoting a strong work ethic and cultivating a desire to serve society. It bases its intellectual endeavors on a transcendental perspective of a person, committed to the search for truth.  


The Universidad de Montevideo seeks to be a university committed to serve society, in which each person faces challenges in their academic, professional, human and spiritual life. The University aspires to excellence amongst students, teachers and staff, while it encourages research and promotes international outlook. 


The Universidad de Montevideo was launched in 1986 as the Instituto de Estudios Empresariales de Montevideo (IEEM) in the Uruguayan Stock Exchange building. The institute was a pioneer in offering Master´s Degree Programs in Business Law, International Trade Law, and Economic Administrative Law in Uruguay. In 1992, the IEEM Business School launched a Master´s Degree Program in Business Administration. 

Legally established as a non-profit organization, IEEM was authorized to operate as a private university when the Uruguayan government issued the decree 308/995, which established the requirements for the authorization and career recognition of private universities. Since then, the UM has grown and developed a solid national and international reputation based on its rigorous educational programs, renowned faculty, insightful publications and in-depth research projects. 

In 1995, the University introduced the first undergraduate degree in Business Administration. Today the Universidad de Montevideo offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees within five Schools, the IEEM Business School and the Center for Biomedical Science.  


The Rector convenes and leads the Board of Directors, which includes the Deans and representatives of the Board of Trustees of the Universidad de Montevideo. 

The Board of Directors makes decisions on academic and organizational matters such as regulations, programming and coordination of teaching activities and research. 

Rector (Provost) 
Juan Manuel Gutiérrez Carrau 

Chief Financial Officer 
Diego Moreira 

Academic Secretary 
​Enrique Etchevarren 

School of Business Administration & Economics 
Dean: Alejandro Cid 
Vice Dean: Mercedes Rovira

School of Communications 
Dean: Álvaro Pérez 

School of Law 
Dean: Nicolás Etcheverry  
Vice Dean: Miguel Casanova

School of Humanities & Education 
Dean: Ramiro Podetti  

School of Engineering 
Dean: Claudio Ruibal 

IEEM Business School 
Dean: Pablo Regent 

Center for Biomedical Science 
Directors: Alberto Sosa & Patricia Schroeder 


Legal Advisor 
Marcelo Sheppard 

​José María Cabrera 

Director of International Affairs 
Luisa Peirano 

Director of Admissions 
María José Frontini 

Communications Manager 
Mariana Gugelmeier 

Initium (Center for Leadership, Entrepreneurship and Innovation)
Josefina Maisonnave

Library and CEDEI
Fernando Aguerre